Our DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) laws are constantly changing. In Louisiana, both a 1st and 2nd offense DWI are misdemeanors, carrying a maximum punishment of 6 months in jail. Most offenders, however, receive probation. The additional terms of probation vary with the level of offense. A 1st offense DWI carries a fine of $300-$1000, a required court approved MADD (Mother’s Against Drunk Driving) class, a substance class, and 32 hours of community service, half of which must be litter abatement. All of these requirements increase on a 2nd offense, and a 3rd offense or higher is a felony. In some states, the 2nd offense is a felony, and your 1st offense in Louisiana could potentially be used against you in another state, and vice versa. A prior conviction (even from another state) can be used against you for 10 years, not including any time you spent on probation, in jail, or awaiting trial.
It is important to hire an attorney who had significant experience in DWI defense, and who can protect your record and ensure your rights are upheld.